Throwback Thursday – Weekend in Geneva

Situated in my Top 5 trips and perfect for todays ‘Throwback Thursday’ would be my solo adventure to Geneva, Switzerland. The clash between old and new prevails throughout the city – classic architecture meets the urban streets; with overhead electrical-lines for the many trams speeding around the city. This place is a real treat. With only my phone camera in hand, and Instagram as my outlet, the journey began.

Geneva, Switzerland

Geneva, Switzerland

This monument captures the founders of the Protestant faith named ‘Reformation Wall‘ – situated in Parc des Bastions, and is a must-see – I recommend going on a more sunny day which this was not.. The park itself is a delightful place to wander through with a very picturesque tree-house-like cafe situated by the entrance; benches to sit and reflect on ones life (or in my case, figure out how to get to hotel before the rain catches up with me..); and an amazing entrance walkway, with tress lined along the way, reminding me of good ol’ Hyde Park.

Geneva, Switzerland

Geneva, Switzerland

Geneva

Geneva, Switzerland

The view from my hotel room balcony at the Swissotel Metropole Geneva was a wonderful sight to wakeup to every morning. Overlooking the very green park area, and during the winter season looks right onto the lake itself. I’d say the location is perfect for anyone looking to explore Geneva as it situated in the city centre with a hype of activity; it’s also surrounded by designer shops and prestigious looking bars and cafes which is very ‘us‘. The staff at the Metropole were very friendly indeed, and the complimentary public transport passes you receive became very useful.

Geneva, Switzerland

Geneva, Switzerland

Jet d’Eau is the main star of the show here; a security valve turned permanent water fountain is one of Geneva’s top tourist attraction – and it comes to no surprise as it is amazing!! It’s situated on a jetty just off-shore and is open for you walk all the way along to the pump (permitting you don’t mind a little shower).

However, the best pace to view Jet d’Eau and my favourite place in Geneva is Jetee des Paquis. This dock area is located opposite to Jet d’Eau and is host to a cafe bar, pebbled beach area, swimming section, a performance area and Geneva’s Lighthouse. It’s a great place to sit, people watch, and drink coffee at any time of the day. The weekends in free entry and weekdays is €2 per adult. I found myself drawn to this place early morning watching the sun rise, and evenings where there is live theatre performers, music, and a real buzz about the place.

Geneva, Switzerland

Geneva, Switzerland

Geneva, Switzerland

Geneva, Switzerland

Geneva, Switzerland

Before I knew it, my weekend drew to a close and just as the storm began to roll in – perfect timing aye! I am forever recommending this place to my friends as a weekend retreat, and with my plane tickets on EasyJet in late June costing £55 return, you can see why.

With Kindest Regards,

Hector xoxo

Leave a Reply

